Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Award

The Mercy Otis Warren Cape Cod Woman of the Year Committee is announcing that nominations will now be accepted for 2018. This is the 17th Annual award.


The award is a marquette of the statue of Mercy Otis Warren which is located on lawn of the Barnstable County Courthouse. This prestigious award is given annually to the Cape Cod woman who most demonstrates leadership in the Cape Cod Community, who has made a significant contribution to the arts, education, business, community and/or volunteerism, while embracing the ideals of patriotism.

Brochures with details about this unique and prestigious award are available for viewing and printing.  The brochure describes criteria for the award, the guidelines for nomination, and gives highlights of the life of Mercy Otis Warren.  You can mail in your nomination form or fill out an Online Award Nomination Form and attach your typed description page to the online form.

The recipient of the award will be asked to participate in the 4th of July Parade in Barnstable Village.

For more information about the award and nomination process, click here or call Judy Walden Scarafile (508) 362-3036

A brochure and nomination form can be downloaded here by rt-clicking the document and saving it to your computer. Or complete the form here (click here). You can fill out the form and email it to
or mail it  to:

Mercy Otis Warren Committee
c/o Barnstable County Complex
PO Box 427
Barnstable, MA.  02630.

The award will be presented Tuesday, June 5th, 7 p.m. at the Tales of Cape Cod, and the recipient will be asked to participate in the 4th of July parade in Barnstable Village.


Past Recipients

2017                       Dolores Holden Daluz

2016                       Ann M. Williams

2015                       Michelle L. DeSilva

2014                       Mary Lou Petitt

2013                       Dorothy A. Savarese

2012                       Judy W. Scarafile

2011                       Susan A. French

2010                       Gloria W. Rudman

2009                       Mary J. LeClair

2008                       Josephine P. Ives

2007                       Lynne M. Poyant

2006                       Bonnie M. Snow

2005                       Felicia R. Penn

2004                       Eugenia Fortes

2003                       Jean D. Gardner

2002                       Marion R. Vuilleumier